2017 Nairda Lyne Award

For a story suitable for children aged 8 to12.

First Prize: ‘The Winner’ by Greg Southwell, North Lyneham ACT

Highly Commended: Dakota Ione, Claremont TAS & Zoe Douglas-Kinghorn, Taroona TAS

Commended: Janice Williams, Stawell VIC

Hobart Bookshop Prize for the best Tasmanian entry: ‘The Birthday Cake’ by Pam Noble, Brighton TAS



Jacqueline Cooke Short Story Award

1st Prize: ‘The Old Salim Beg’  by Jacqueline Lonsdale-Cuerton

Runners-up: ‘How to Become a Champion’ by David Brelsford; ‘Key to the Heart’ by Emma Collins; ‘A Forced Moon’ by Kelcey Pitt; ‘Earth Angel’ by Yvonne Saw

Honourable Mentions: David Brelsford, Acacia Hudson, Sophie McGregor, Andrea McMahon and Dasha Margvelashvili

Thanks to John Biggs for judging the competition.

Norma & Colin Knight Poetry Award

1st Prize: ‘Give thanks’ by Andrea McMahon

2nd Prize: ‘Giant Galapagos Tortoise’ by Emma Collins

3rd Prize: ‘Calling You Home’ by Edith Speers

Thanks to Gina Mercer for judging the competition.

Barney Roberts Non-fiction Award

Equal winners: ‘Technology Takes Over’ by Emma Collins; ‘My First Eddie Rice Debrief’ by Conor Duggan; ‘The Holiday’ by Isobel Latimer; ‘Being Trans in a Cisnormative World’ by Ash Polzin.


FAW Tasmania 2016 Poetry Prize

1st Prize:  ‘At the Gold Coast Airport’ Beverley Sweeney, NSW

2nd Prize:  ‘Right Whale’   Janeen Samuel, VIC

Highly Commended:  Janeen Samuel, VIC

Commended:  Karen Armstrong, TAS;  Damen O’Brien, QLD; Edith Speers. TAS


2015 FAW Tasmania Henry Savery National Short Story Award

1st Prize: ‘Jean West in the House of Terror’ by Sue Benner, Koonya TAS

2nd Prize: ‘The backbone of Australia’ by Carmel Lillis, Yarraville VIC

Highly commended:
Jennifer Shapcott, Chapman ACT
Kate Elkington, Buderim QLD
Carmel Lillis, Yarraville VIC

Chris Marcic, Ulladulla NSW
Terrie Ferman, Greenslopes QLD

Thanks to Jennie Herrera for judging the competition.